top of page
Image by Rowan Heuvel

What are the HCBS Waivers?

Tennessee's 1915(c) waiver programs, overseen by TennCare's Division of Long-Term Services and Supports (LTSS) and operated by the Department of Disability and Aging (DDA), provide Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) for people experiencing intellectual disabilities as an alternative to institutional care. The CAC (formerly Arlington Waiver) and SW waivers offer home and community services tailored to individual goals.

The CAC waiver, established in 2000 and expanded in 2015, serves specific populations, including former members of Arlington and Clover Bottom Developmental Centers and those discharged from the Harold Jordan Center.

The SW waiver, initiated in 1987, targets adults experiencing IDD and persons transitioning from ICF/IID through the Money Follows the Person program. Enrollment criteria include meeting TennCare ICF/IID level of care and financial eligibility, having an intellectual disability before age 18, and participating in the MFP program.

Both waivers closed to new enrollment in 2016, except for limited exceptions in the CAC and SW waivers.

Image by Rowan Heuvel
bottom of page